Just Do It!

Just do itI remember when I started running with my husband a few years ago. He had just run his 1st race and was so hooked already, I knew I would be left behind if I didn’t join him. Those early runs were miserable.  My husband would push me to go farther than I thought I could. “Keep going until that next light pole, that next corner…” I couldn’t breathe and would get so angry! I hated it, but at the same time I wanted to be able to do it with him because he loved it so much. I never would have imagined that it would become something that would change my life so much or the benefits I would gain that go far beyond fitness or the friends I would make from all over the world!

Even though I’ve been plagued with injuries in this journey, the benefits far outweigh the discomforts. Being off all activity for so long with this last hamstring tear, has only made me more determined to continue. Even though I’m still doing more walking than I am running now, I consider myself back in training mode. Even though I’ve just been able to start swimming again and have to still use a pull buoy, I consider myself back in training. I’m not back up to speed on my bike yet, but I’m still in training.

There is always something ahead to work for, whether it be a race, a triathlon, a project, a new role, a goal or a life dream. And there will always be something that will try to hold us back, discourage us and make us want to quit. It’s just the way it goes. It’s real life. You choose what to do with it. I can make excuses about why I can’t train, or I can give it all I’ve got with whatever it is I’ve got in my hand at the time, even when it hurts, even when I don’t like it or feel like it. Why? Because I want to do more than just exist. I want to live and live fully.

In the past I’ve been good at defeating myself before I ever get started. I’ve been good at talking myself out of things, reasoning Do it Nowcreative ideas right out of existence. My motto for this year is one you’ve heard before, but it applies to more than shoes for me. It applies to every aspect of my life. I’ll let you borrow it if you want. “Just do it!” But let’s “just do it” together. It’s more fun that way! You in???

Leave a Reply

